Thursday, 17 December 2009

History of the french language

French dialects developped from the Vulgar Latin which was brought to Northern Gaul with the Roman conquest in the 1st century B.C.  The history of French language is divided into 6 main periods:
  1. Gallo-Romance (5th-8th centuries). The Vulgar Latin in Gaul has developped specific features that made it distinct from the Latin spoken in the other regions of the Roman empire. The Reichenau Glosses are a good example of its phonetics and vocabulary.
  2.  Old French (9th-13th centuries). The dialects of Northern Gaul developed into separate language (Langue d'oil, see below) with a grammar of its own. The first written materials in it date from the Strasbourg Oaths of 842. The Old French literature flourished since the 10th century (chansons de geste etc.). French in this period was already taught in the neighboring countries (especially in Germany). In 11th-13th centuries it was the dominant language of the English administration . It was, also, the language of the crusaders in the Levantine countries.
  3. Middle French (14th-15th centuries). This period was marked by changes both in the pronunciation and in the grammar. A common literary language, based on the dialect of Île de France (the region of Paris), was promoted by the writers. French was replacing Latin in the texts of the public administration in France.
  4. Early Modern French (16th century). The aim of the writers of this period, as is the case of the poets of La Pléiade, was to elevate the French language to the level of Latin as a medium for literary expression.In 1539  a royal decree  proclaimed French official language of the public administration. Since that period the government was always involved in the development and the standardization of the language.
  5. Classical Modern French (17th-18th century). In this period were fixed the main grammar convention of the modern French. By then it was used as an international language throughout Europe and even in the administrative correspondence of countries as Germany. With the colonial expansion of France French spread to America (Canada, Louisiana, the Caribbean islands etc.).
  6. Contemporary Modern French (since 19th century). The contemporary pronunciation of the standard language was fixed in that period, namely between 1789 and 1918. French was established as an official language in the French and Belgian colonial possessions in Africa.
Standard language and Dialects The standard for French is based on the dialect of Île de France (technically known as Francien) which has been the official standard language since the mid-16th century. Francien has largely replaced other regional dialects of French spoken in northern and central France; these dialects made up the so-called Langue d'oïl (the term is based on the French use of the word oïl, modern oui, for yes). French dialects are classified in 5 groups:
  • Central: Francien, Orléanais, Bourbonnais, Champenois;
  • Northern: Picard, Northern Norman, Walloon (usually considered a separate language);
  • Eastern: Lorrain, Bourguignon (Burgundian), Franc-Comtois;
  • Western: Norman, Gallo (around the Celtic Breton area), Angevin, Maine;
  • Southwestern: Poitevin, Saintongeais, Angoumois.
Also, we have the following regional dialects/languages:

Alsacien (Deutsch-Elsass )
Basque ( Eskuara)

Normande ( Norman French )

All these regional " languages" have their unique accents too. It is tough for new comers!!

Digg It! Stumble Delicious Technorati Tweet It! Facebook

Enjoy a romp around the Aude, Languedoc

This Aude Languedoc property site is designed to give extra credibilty to buy property and find property for sale in the Aude, Languedoc as a holiday home or main residence.

There is detailed information on all you need to know about buying property in France and especially in the Aude,Languedoc. This can be found on

If you come to the Aude to buy Property, and need a Gite to stay in, have a look here:

Happy romp!!